Collegium PoliticumGreek and Roman Political ThoughtAbout Conferences Publications Members Contact


The Collegium Politicum (CP) is a scientific network devoted to the study of ancient political theory and its reception in the history of political thought, with special emphasis on its impact on modern Europe. The network is made up of several universities and research centers, each represented by a person who coordinates research in the field at her/his institution.

The network was established in 2000 on the initiative of Francisco Lisi who has subsequently served as its main coordinator.

The bulk of CP activity consists in organizing meetings on an annual basis. These are aimed not only at discussing the central themes of the classical political thought but also at establishing and sustaining a community of classicists, philosophers, historians and legal scholars who share similar scientific interests and who can take advantage of meeting regularly.

The group is also responsible for editing the series published by Academia Verlag Sankt Augustin and additional volumes and series (details here).

The group is represented by a president elected for a one-year period who is supposed to organize and host the  meeting of the CP. The highest body of the CP is the general assembly consisting of representatives of the member institutions which convenes once a year, typically during the annual meeting of the CP. It is responsible for taking key decisions concerning the general strategy of the CP and elects the president for the next period and thus the venue of the next meeting.

Member institutions and their representatives

Michele Curnis (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)

Arianna Fermani (UniversitĂ  di degli studi di Macerata)

Silvia Gastaldi (UniversitĂ  di PavĂ­a)

Giovanni Giorgini (UniversitĂ  di Bologna)

Edward M. Harris (University of Durham/Edinburgh)

Christoph Horn (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)

Elena Irrera (UniversitĂ  di Bologna)

Jakub Jinek (University of Pardubice)

Manuel Knoll (Turkish-German University Istanbul/LMU MĂĽnchen)

Veronika Konrádová (J. E. Purkyně University Ústí nad Labem)

Maria Liatsi (University of Ioannina)

Francisco L. Lisi (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)

Alberto Maffi (UniversitĂ  di Milano-Bicocca)

Ermanno Malaspina (UnivinersitĂ  di Torino)

Maurizio Migliori (UniversitĂ  di Macerata)

Josep Monserrat Molas (Universidat de Barcelona)

Eckart SchĂĽtrumpf (University of Colorado Boulder)

Bernat Torres (Universidat Internacional de Catalunya)

María José Vega (Universidat Autònoma de Barcelona)

Simon Weber (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn)

Barbara Zehnpfennig (Universität Passau)

Deceased members of the Collegium Politicum

† Slobodan Dušanić (University of Belgrade)

† Aleš Havlíček (J. E. Purkyně University Ústí nad Labem)

† Ada Neschke-Hentschke (University of Lausanne)

† Mario Vegetti (Università de Pavía)

Copyright © 2023 Collegium Politicum Powered by